School District Five of Lexington and Richland Counties

District Five encompasses a land area of approximately 196 square miles, approximately one-half of which is situated in each of Lexington and Richland Counties. The school district consists of the northern portion of Lexington County lying north of Lake Murray and the Saluda River and the northwestern portion of Richland County lying south of the Broad River. The School District is primarily a residential suburb located to the northwest of the city of Columbia, the capital city of South Carolina. Included in the District Five are the towns of Irmo and Chapin. The school district has three attendance areas: Chapin, Dutch Fork, and Irmo. District Five operates a total of 12 elementary schools, two intermediate schools, three middle schools, four high schools, one Center for Advanced Technical Studies and one alternative school.

 School District Five offers educational programs that challenge and stimulate thinking and problem solving and fosters superior achievement. Our comprehensive educational program focuses on both academic and personal success for all students, from early childhood education through grade 12 and includes both adult and community education programs. A variety of programs are offered to meet the diverse needs of our students.